Special Head Temple of the Tendai sect / The 33-sacred Temple Kannon Pilgrimage Route in Saigoku

Shoshazan Engyoji Temple

The Layout of Temple Buildings

back to page top

Honda Family’s Mausoleums / 本多家廟屋

Honda_Family
Honda_FamilyHonda_FamilyHonda_FamilyHonda_Family

The graveyard of the Honda Family, the lords of Himeji Castle, is at the southeast corner of Dai-ko-do, surrounded by clay walls.

Five mausoleums of Honda Tadakatsu, Tadamasa, Masatomo, Masanaga and Tadakuni stand here.

Two tombstones of Princes Sen’s husband, Tadatoki and their son, Kochiyo, stand beside them.

These five mausoleums were built in a unique architectural style from the beginning to the middle of the Edo period (1603-1868) in this prefecture.

a Cultural Property designated by Hyogo Prefecture

back to page top

About Engyoji
Temple Seal
Temple_Buildings
Mani-den
Dai-ko-do
Jiki-do
Jogyo-do
Kaizan-do
Goho-do
Goho-do_Hai-den
Honda_Family
Kongo-do
Yakushi-do
Jumyo-in
Sanjyu-san-sho-do
Nio-mon
Juryo-in
Schedule
Access

feature

Jumyo-in

Jumyo-in

Jumyo-in Temple was constructed in 1691 (Genroku 4th yr), and a large-scale repair after demolition started in 1992 (Heisei 4th yr), and was completed in 1995 (Heisei 7th yr).

[ more...]