Special Head Temple of the Tendai sect / The 33-sacred Temple Kannon Pilgrimage Route in Saigoku
Known as one of the most revered sub-temples in Engyoji Temple, Juryo-in was once called Muryoju-in.
The records show it was visited by Emperor Go-Shirakawa in 1174 (Joan 4th yr) after his retirement and entry into the Buddhist priesthood.
He secluded himself in Juryo-in for 7 days to pray for providence of Kanzeon-Bosatsu, Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva (the Bosatsu of Mercy).
Kyaku-den (a guest room) and Kuri (a kitchen for priests and guests) seen today were rebuilt in 1688 (Jokyo 5th yr).
The outside is characterized by an ancient architectural style called Shinden-zukuri along with Shitomido doors and a Chu-mon gate, and the inside is characterized by a traditional Japanese architectural style called Shoin-zukuri along with Toko (alcoves) and Chigai-dana (sets of staggered shelves).
Consisting of Hojyo (a square room) with a Buddhist altar and Kuri (a living space for priests) with a kitchen, the structure of this sub-temple as well as Jumyo-in is very unique and is known as an Engyoji style.
Repairing with dismantling took place from 1966 (Showa 41st yr) to 1967 (Showa 42nd yr).
a National Important Cultural Property